This article answers if published activities are seen by students right away after publishing.
Depending on the modality chosen during the activity setup, what happens after you click on the publish button is different.
SYNCHRONOUS ACTIVITY MODALITY:
When you publish a Synchronous activity, students will see the details of the published activity on their dashboard.
When the students click on Enter Test, a waiting screen indicating details about the activity will be shown. A status indicating Test has not started on the top right-hand indicating that the activity will start at a later point.
In this case, the activity will be accessible when you click the Start button from within the instructor dashboard.
- If you’re using the Synchronous modality, you can hide the activity from your students until you decide to ‘show’ it at a later point.
ASYNCHRONOUS ACTIVITY MODALITY:
- When you publish an Asynchronous activity, visibility of the activity is tied to the open period set for your activity during the activity creation process.
This means that if you choose the Asynchronous modality, your activity will be visible and accessible from the students dashboards the moment you hit the publish button as long as it's within the open period that has been set.
Please note, the hide option is only available on Synchronous activities. Asynchronous activities will automatically start as 'Ongoing' under the status area.