This article will teach you how to hide your published activities off the dashboard of your students.
This article contains the following sections:
- Publishing Asynchronous and Synchronous Activities
- Hiding the Activities
- What Happens When Activities Are Hidden?
Publishing Asynchronous and Synchronous Activities
First, let's take a look at how the dashboard looks like when you publish Asynchronous Activities. When you set up an asynchronous activity, you'll have to set the Open Period that tells when your students will be allowed to access it.
Here's what it looks like on your dashboard when you make the activity accessible right away, meaning, you set the Open Period from the current (or an earlier) time. Notice the STATUS is set to Ongoing.
If you set an Asynchronous Activity a later time, then it should appear as Scheduled (as shown below).
Now, if you decide to make your activity Synchronous, it would initially appear on your dashboard as Not Started. It'll remain this way until you get the class together and start the activity.
Hiding the Activities
If you want to help declutter and hide activities off the dashboard of your students, just click on the Hide button next to the Go to Dashboard button.
It is important to note that you can only hide Scheduled Asynchronous and Synchronous activities (as shown on the images above).
What Happens When Activities Are Hidden?
Once you've clicked "Hide", the STATUS of the activity should turn to "Hidden from students". The hidden activity will no longer be visible on the student's end. This is particularly helpful if you have lots of published activities and your students have taken a bunch of them already. You can declutter the dashboard of your students simply by hiding those finished activities.
This will allow your students to focus on the tasks and activities that are ongoing or are about to start.
Hiding the activities will also hide the grades from the students, even their answers to the activities are kept hidden.
You can, at any time, toggle the visibility of the activity by clicking the green Show button (that replaces Hide). You may show the activity to your students if the Open Period (for Asynchronous), or if your Synchronous activity is about to start.