This article will guide you on how to use the EXPRESS SIGN-IN URL feature for temporary training sessions.
Here's some important information you need to know regarding using the EXPRESS SIGN-IN URL feature for your temporary trainings:
- You can use the EXPRESS SIGN-IN URL feature to quickly add temporary students to your course.
- Students should be added to teams before publishing your activities to give them access to the activities.
- Please note, this is a feature that must be activated on an individual account basis by your Super Administrator, or else you will not see the option within your instructor's dashboard.
If the option is available to you, you will see this within your course dashboard in the settings area:
You will want to turn the Enable Express Sign-in option to Yes.
Once the option has been turned on, you will see the methods which can be used by students to enroll into your course:
EXPRESS SIGN-IN URL
SIGN-IN QR CODE
EXPRESS SIGN-IN URL: This method is probably familiar to you if you have ever attended one of our workshops. It’s a link that’s usually given by the professor to all the student's before the activities commence. As student's click on the link, they will be able to register with the name of their choice, and instantly appear in you student's area within InteDashboard.
SIGN-IN QR CODE: This method accomplishes the same goal. But it’s aimed more for mobile users. It’s a QR code, which will bring the person who scans it with the camera of their mobile phone into the registration link listed under method one.
COURSE ID: This is the unique identifier that you will need to give to your students, so they can login to the proper course when prompted during the login process.
You can increase security by adding a secret pin:
The secret pin method is only available via temporary URL student registrations which are based solely on name values. You can set your secret pin to six characters and then provide the pin via the method of your choice–alongside the express sign-in URL link to your students. If you do this, you'll increase security and limit unknown participants.
Moving forward, you can have your students register their email by turning on the following option:
You may take this approach if the students will be revisiting your training sessions periodically, otherwise we recommend to keep things basic and use the one time name based registration process listed above to minimize the amount of data that appear in the back-end of your account.
Alternatively, you can also allow your students to login via their Microsoft Teams and Google Classroom accounts:
If you turn these options to Yes, your students will see the following from their end.
Notice, you will see the following in some options: Enter allowed domains, separated by commas. If you leave this empty, all domains are accepted. What this option does–is filter out any email accounts that do not meet your criteria. You can put the email domain of your organization in the form to make sure that only students that have emails with that domain come into your course. This will prevent issues related to students using their personal emails to register for their courses.
➡️ These methods will ultimately bring the student into your account. So as an example. Let’s say a student named John Doe clicks on the link provided, or scans the QR code, and inputs their name during the registration process.
You will instantly see this person registered as a student within your instructor’s dashboard:
From this point on, you may move the student into a team and get started with conducting your course work.
⚠️ It’s worth pointing out the temporary nature of the basic accounts, which are based solely on name values. These types of accounts are not meant for semester long study course work, or anything beyond a temporary training session because of privacy and data storage reasons.
⚠️ Accounts which require registration are different. These accounts will prompt the student to register an account with us and they may be managed via the student administration panel in your dashboard. These accounts are essentially full InteDashboard accounts and are intended for long-term usage.
💡 If you still have questions, please contact our support team.